ShanghaiTech University Hosts ICESS-14


The 14th International Conference on Electronic Spectroscopy and Structure (ICESS-14) was held October 8th - 12th at ShanghaiTech University. Originally started in 1971 and held every three years, this is first time the conference was held in China.

ShanghaiTech University Vice President Professor Yin Jie, Chair of International Advisory Board (IAB) for ICESS Professor Wolfgang Eberhardt, and Co-chair of ICESS-14 and SPST Vice Dean Professor Liu Zhi welcomed the more than 330 scientists from 22 countries and regions around the world to ShanghaiTech.

Professor Liu Zhi, Professor Feng Donglai (Fudan University) and Professor Chen Yulin (University of Oxford) served as the co-chairs of ICESS-14, which covered various research areas, including surface and interface science, condensed matter physics, synchrotron radiation, and free electron lasers. The speakers reported important recent progress from the past three years or that will be published soon. There were eight plenary talks, 40 invited talks, 41 contributed talks, a poster session and a tour around iShanghai Synchrotron Radiation Facility (SSRF).

In the plenary speech sessions, Professor Xue Qikun (Tsinghua University), Professor Tom Devereaux (Stanford University), Professor Atsushi Fujimori (University of Tokyo), Professor Maria Novella Piancastelli (Uppsala University), Professor Uwe Bovensiepen (University of Duisburg-Essen), Professor Giacomo Claudio Ghiringhelli (Politecnico di Milano), Professor Aaron Bostwick (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) and Dr. Wanli Yang (LBNL) introduced recent breakthroughs and directions in the fields of topological quantum materials, high-temperature superconductivity, atomic and molecular optics and advanced detection. Other invited speakers included Professor Shen Zhixun (Stanford University), Professor Zhou Xingjiang (Institute of Physics, CAS), Professor Hans-Peter Steinrück (Friedrich-Alexander-Universit?t Erlangen-Nürnberg), and Professor Wolfgang Eberhardt (CFEL). 

120 posters were displayed at the poster session and the attendees fully exchanged their opinions while the expert panel voted. Finally, the Best Poster Awards were awarded to Feng Jiatai (NIMTE, CAS), Koichiro Yaji (Kyoto University), Jiang Chenggong (SIMIT, CAS), Stephen Urquhart (University of Saskatchewan) and Debora Pierucci (ALBA Synchrotron Facility). Best Student Awards were given to Chiara Bigi (Università degli Studi di Milano) and Philipp Eickholt (Univeristy of Moenster).

Professor Liu Zhi closed the conference on October 12th with an introduction to Shanghai HIgh repetition rate XFEL aNd Extreme light facility (SHINE) and then the attendees visited Shanghai Synchrotron Radiation Facility (SSRF).

During the conference, the IAB of ICESS decided that Professor Nobuhiro Kosugi would be the next chair and elected Professor Liu Zhi to become a new member of IAB. In three years, ICESS-15 will be held in Oulu, Finland.

ICESS-14 was sponsored by more than 14 companies and 26 volunteers from ShanghaiTech and SIMIT helped organize the conference.  

Group photo 

Opening remarks by ShanghaiTech Vice President Yin Jie

Lecture room

Plenary lecture by Professor Xue Qikun 

Plenary lecture by Professor Tom Devereaux

Poster Session

Poster Award Winners

SSRF tour



XML 地图 | Sitemap 地图